Task 2 – Temporal Expressions Final

Following my research into this task, I began to create a joiner image in the style of David Hockney. I used the object of a Ben and Jerry’s tub. The main thing I found challenging for this particular element of the task was how time consuming it was. I found that putting all the images together was a lengthy process. Below is my final outcome.

joiner image

For my short exposure images I decided to use paint and water together to make the image more aesthetically pleasing. I first experimented with splattering paint onto a canvas but due to having no one helping me, it was extremely difficult to capture the paint at the exact right moment. Below is my failed attempt.

IMG_0001 IMG_0009

I tried to think of how I could capture something with me taking the photo and creating the movement and realised that me dropping water/paint into water would be easier for me to do both the tasks. I found a pot of pink paint in the garage and began to drip it from a height into a bowl of water. I had the camera shutter speed set to 1/4000 so that it was extra fast. It took many, many attempts to capture the perfect droplet but I managed to get three really good outcomes. These are seen below.

short exp1 short exp4 short exp3

When taking my long exposure images, I luckily enough had someone to help me so this process was much quicker and I was able to get some great images. I bought some sparklers and set my shutter speed to 3 so that it opened to lens up for three seconds and it captured many shapes that we drew. Below are my favourite photos from the selection I took.

moon long exp 5 amy fireworks bow long exp 3

I also managed to take this light streak photo, using the exact same technique as above. For the image below I had the shutter speed set to 15 so that lots of movement would be captured to give the illusion that the lights are being dragged along the road. I took this photo at around 6pm so that there were lots of cars on both side of the road and the colours came out extra defined.

Screen Shot 2014-10-22 at 09.39.57

Leave a Reply

