Development & Realisation: Creation of Posters

Initial Idea (World Map):

As I had already began to create my initial idea, I decided to continue a little bit further so I could compare the two final designs. I traced the world map and just kept the outline so that the poster didn’t look too crowded and was easy to see the various different countries I was pin pointing. I wanted to split up to all the continents but the image I was tracing didn’t include Europe, I managed draw the line in myself but this meant that I couldn’t change the colours of Asia and Europe.

I spoke to our workshop leader and she managed to help me figure out my issue – I had to divide up the paths using pathfinder. I then added in the title and the pin points but not the flag versions as I wanted to do a clear comparison of my first ever idea to show the vast improvement.

Screen Shot 2015-01-09 at 15.32.44

Screen Shot 2015-01-09 at 00.11.10

New Idea (Timeline Journey):

As I finished the first idea and gained some more Illustrator practice and skills I moved on to the creation of my final poster. I began with the basic outline and chose which colours from my selection to use where. I did the snake like design first and then added all the various different images and icons and finally inserted the text saying which country I travelled to.

I managed my time efficiently throughout the creation of my poster as I tackled one area at a time such as all the different icons and flat design I did together so that they all looked the same and showed consistency. The same font and colours were used throughout in order to replicate existing, realistic info-graphic posters.

Screen Shot 2015-01-09 at 01.05.28

Screen Shot 2015-01-09 at 15.00.56

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 22.40.30

Leave a Reply

